## **Testwale Current Affairs PDF**

Current Affairs search results for: "PR Sreejesh, Savita Punia voted FIH Men's and Women's Goalkeeper of the Year"

## 1. India win's Women's FIH Nations Cup 2022: qualifies for the Pro League 2023-24 ( Dec. 18, 2022 )

India win's Women's FIH Nations Cup 2022

The Indian women Hockey team led by Captain <u>Savita Punia</u> beat **Spain** 1-0 in the final to win the inaugural **FIH Nations Cup** played at Valencia, Spain on 17 December 2022. The winning goal was scored by **Gurjit Kaur** of India.

The inaugural FIH Nations cup was held in **Valencia**, **Spain** from 11-17 December 2022.

With this win the Indian team coached by **Janneke Schopman**- has qualified for the FIH Pro League 2023-24.

India and Spain had played in the FIH women's Hockey Pro League 2021-22 season as replacement teams after pull-outs by Australia and New Zealand due to COVID-19 related issues.

India finished third in the 2021-22 FIH Pro League. The team did not qualify for the ongoing 2022-23 Pro League season.

### **FIH Nations Cup**

Top 8 ranked teams which are not part of Women's FIH Pro League were invited to play in the FIH nation's cup. The winner of the Nation's cup will be promoted to the 2023-24 season of the FIH Pro League.

World's top ranked 9 teams are invited to play in the FIH Pro League.

In the Nations Cup 8 teams were placed in two groups.

Group A consisted of Spain, South Korea, and Italy.

Group B consisted of India, Japan, Chile and South Africa.

India remained unbeaten in the tournament.

### FIH

FIH (Fédération Internationale de Hockey) is the governing body of men's and women's International hockey.

Headquarters: Lausanne, Switzerland

President: Mohammad Tayyab Ikram

Members: 137 countries

# 2. PR Sreejesh, Savita Punia voted FIH Men's and Women's Goalkeeper of the Year (Oct. 6, 2022)

Corporate Address: A102, A Block, Sector 58, Noida, Uttar Pradesh-201301

PR Sreejesh and Savita Punia have been voted FIH Men's and Women's Goalkeeper of the Year for the second year in a row.

## **Important facts**

- Indian women's hockey team captain Savita Punia and veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh won the FIH Goalkeeper of the Year title in both men's and women's categories based on their performances.
- Savita is the **third athlete to win the Goalkeeper** of the Year (Female) for three consecutive years since the inception of the award in 2014.
- In his 16th year as a full international for India, Sreejesh proved his mettle by appearing in all 16 games in the FIH Hockey Pro League in which India finished third.
- He also participated in all six sports at the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games, when India won the silver medal.
- Sreejesh got a total of 39.9 votes, followed by Belgium's Loik van Dooren (26.3 points) and Netherlands' Primin Bloc (23.2 points).
- It was voted online by experts (40%), teams (20%), fans (20%), and media (20%).
- Sreejesh is the third consecutive player to win the FIH Goalkeeper of the Year title.
- Earlier, David Hurt (Ire) had won the award twice in 2015 and 2016, while Vincent Vanash (Belgium) won the award three times in a row from 2017 to 2019.

## FIH Goalkeeper of the Year past winners

### Men

2019	Vincent Vanash	Belgium
2018	Vincent Vanash	Belgium
2017	Vincent Vanash	Belgium
2016	David Harte	Ireland
2015	David Harte	Ireland
2014	Jaap Stockmann	Netherland

### Women

2019	Rachael Lynch	Austrelia
2018	Maddie Hinch	Great Britain
2017	Maddie Hinch	Great Britain
2016	Maddie Hinch	Great Britain
2015	Joyce Sombroek	Netherland
2014	Joyce Sombroek	Netherland